Sketchbook 9: Expressionism + Asuna

So for this week’s sketchbook openings, I have a strange layering that I decided to do one day. I got my three most muted colors that went well with each other and started to add layers of them to create a three-dimensional effect that still drips with opulence because dripping is of course one of my favorite process in art. As you can see, the textures in some areas of the bars of paint give shadows and depth, which is what I wanted to achieve. For some reason, I also decided to give some of my own DNA in the form of hair, although most of them fell off my head and did not need to be ripped. No need to worry for no hair follicles were harmed in the making of this art. For some added patterns, I scribbled along the edge only because I felt that it would help make the entire page pop as opposed to only keeping the colors. I think they complement each other well.

SCAN0022.jpg

On the right I simply drew Asuna from Sword Art Online. The episode in which they had to fight The Gleam Eyes really made me fall in love with her even more. The instant in which she charged forth (and maybe the music had something to do with it) was so intense and after that her relationship with Kirito really all fell together for me. That show really had a lot of unanswered questions for me and I really need to have them answered. I regret not coloring this drawing in with some of my new watercolors but whatever, I guess the next few pages showcase the colors and more intricate things as well.

For now, I hope this is not too late for a blog post. Yesterday’s (yes it was published on a Tuesday) got some love despite being published after most people’s bedtimes. I hope you all had a great day and stay crystallized.

Leave a Reply

